Skip to main content

Knowingly Leaving the Scene of an Accident in New Jersey

If you leave the scene of a motor vehicle accident in New Jersey, you could be fined up to $5,000 and spend up to 180 days in jail. If you have been in an accident and left the scene, immediately call an experienced lawyer.

Requirements at the Scene of an Accident

New Jersey’s hit and run statute, N.J.S.A. 39:4-129, which governs leaving the scene of an accident, covers requirements for drivers involved in an accident, including:

Injury or Death

Any vehicle driver knowingly involved in an accident that has resulted in injury or death of another person must stop at the scene of the accident and stay there until they provide their name, address, operator’s license and vehicle registration information to those people who are injured or who have had property damaged in the accident. They must also provide that information to:

  • Police officers at the scene
  • Witnesses at the scene
  • Drivers and occupants of the vehicles involved

They must provide reasonable assistance to any person injured in the accident, including, if requested or deemed necessary, transportation to medical care.

Additionally, they must report the accident and provide their name, address, operator’s license and vehicle registration information to the nearest local, county or state police department if there is no police presence at the accident scene.

Property Damage

Any vehicle driver knowingly involved in an accident that has resulted in only property damage must stop at the scene of the accident and stay there until they have provided the same information exchange requirements as in an accident that resulted in injury or death.

Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident

If any vehicle driver knowingly involved in an accident does not comply with the requirements of N.J.S.A. 39:4-129, he or she:

  • Can be fined not less than $2,500 or more than $5,000, or be imprisoned for a period of 180 days, or both if convicted of leaving the scene of an accident resulting in injury or death. If convicted, the driver will also lose their driver’s license for a year for the first offense and for life for subsequent offenses.
  • Can be fined not less than $200 or more than $400, or be imprisoned for a period of not less than 30 days or not more than 90 days if convicted of leaving the scene of an accident resulting in property damage but not injury or death. If convicted, the driver will also lose their driver’s license for six months for the first offense and for one year for subsequent offenses.

Additional penalties for drivers involved in a hit and run can include points being added to their motor vehicle license.

  • Two points if there are no personal injuries
  • Eight points if there are injuries

Also, following the conviction of a traffic offense, the offender’s insurance premiums often rise.

Defending a Hit and Run Accident

If you or a family member has been charged with knowingly leaving the scene of the accident, and related charges such as assault by auto, consequences can be very serious.

The highly experienced team at Rosenberg | Perry & Associates will be at your side every step of the way, developing and delivering a powerful defense focused on the best possible outcome. Contact us today through our site or call us today for a free consultation at (609) 216-7400.

Contact Rosenberg | Perry & Associates

We would like to hear from you. Please send us a message by filling out the form below and we will get back with you shortly.
Contact Us
Rosenberg | Perry & Associates will not share any details on your case with those outside the law firm, subject to our confidentiality agreement.